Harvey

For the past 2 Semesters, I was a Harvey TA.  This program is run by Dr. Hayden, who is one of my favorite faculty members as he went to University of Michigan Medical School (GO BLUE!), and was an Emergency Medicine Physician.  Therefore, I worked with him a lot when I was on the E-Board for the Emergency Medicine Student Interest Group (EMSIG).

Harvey is a Medical Mannequin used to simulate Heart Sounds for learning. Each student is provided with a stethoscope that allows them to hear the heart and lung sounds that the mannequin is producing.  You can check out some information on it here.  Each Semester, students are required to participate in Harvey training, where they listen to normal heart sounds, simple murmurs, and then more complex sounds as they progress.  As a Harvey TA, I take my group of students through the heart sounds and teach them about what they should be hearing.  This is important because murmurs and heart sounds are a large aspect of the STEP 1 Examination, and the USMLE expects student to recognize the different murmurs by listening to an audio clip.

Dr. Ron Gagne has a video on YouTube, showing you AUC’s Harvey Lab and some details about how it works.

Check it out here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dWagqmk9_pI

Screen Shot 2017-08-09 at 8.19.58 PM

Because it was my 5th Semester as a Harvey TA, I was awarded a certificate and went to a dinner a few days ago.  Check out a picture of Harvey and I ❤️, along with my certificate below.  (The powder on Harvey protects the plastic and prevents microbes from growing).

Screen Shot 2017-08-11 at 4.08.01 PMFullSizeRender 11

 

Leave a comment